Cory A. Genelin

Agriculture Law & Agribusiness

Cory A. Genelin


Cory Genelin, a partner at Gislason & Hunter, combines his knowledge of the law with common sense and leadership experience. His practice includes civil litigationlabor and employment lawbusiness and corporate law, mediation, and estates and trust litigation.

Cory serves as the Chair of Gislason & Hunter’s Employment, Labor, and Benefits Practice Group. As the employment and general counsel for numerous Southern Minnesota businesses, he keeps operations running smoothly by producing policies, handbooks, and checklists along with the training to implement them all.  Cory has also litigated more than 100 employment law cases.

His general litigation experience ranges from trust disputes to complex business litigation. He has experience in jury trials, court trials, administrative proceedings, and courts-martial.

Cory is a Minnesota Rule 114 Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Qualified Neutral and serves as a mediator and arbitrator.  His ADR work is informed by his decades of courtroom experience and his service as a Board Legal Advisor, the equivalent of a judge in Administrative Discipline procedures for the United States Air Force.

From 2009 to 2023, Cory served as a Judge Advocate in the Air National Guard; serving essentially as in-house counsel to a Wing with more than 1,200 employees an eight-figure annual budget, and assets distributed around the world. His duties included employment law, environmental law, contracting, and oversight of ongoing combat and intelligence collection operations.  He retired as a Lieutenant Colonel. Cory is a decorated combat veteran, having served as an Air Weapons Officer aboard the E-8C Joint STARS in Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Cory is a native and resident of Le Sueur, Minnesota. He enjoys his small cattle herd, fishing, hunting, spending time with his wife and four children, and teaching Catechism.


Honors & Awards

  • Rising Star2014 - 2016
  • Meterious Service Medal2017


  • Southern Minnesota Human Resources Association - Legislative Chair2010 - 2023